ALA 2010: My Simple Plan for Keeping Close to Sane

The 2010 American Libraries Association conference is coming up next week and I have a plan to keep myself somewhat sane at this “canbeoverwhelming” conference.

I plan to do  one (or two) things each day and one day of no specific commitments:

My schedule this year at ALA:

Friday: Co-Presenting Preconference on Beyond F2f: New methods for staff training with Jay Turner and Mary Beth Faccioli in the morning and LJ Movers and Shakers Luncheon in the afternoon.

Saturday: Mostly Exhibit Hall hanging out, connecting with people, popping in on my director’s PLA program Sharing Costs, Sharing Spaces: The Cost Savings of Designing a Multi-Purpose Facility, (Page 107 of ALA 2010 program tome,) GIVING AWAY T IS FOR TRAINING BADGE RIBBONS (scheduled), and the Graphic Novel Pavilion Costume parade at 4 pm.  I should bring a chair.

Sunday: I am a panelist on the Library Trainers as Leaders Panel in the morning and interviewing folks at the Learning Round Table Training Showcase in the afternoon.  All Learning RT Events at ALA2010 can be found here.

Monday: Stopping in on the Learning RT Staff Development Discussion, Hosting a LIVE T is for Training in the Networking Uncommons Space ( I don’t like that name) space in the afternoon and capping off ALA 2010 with

BATTLEDECKS!!!!!!!!!  as a judge where bribery is expected and encouraged!

I plan on using  technology to my advantage: If you have a smartphone, ALA has some great resources for you to organize and enjoy the conference.  I have an Android phone and ALA has an application that you can download from HERE if you want one for ALA2k10.

I also created a Learning RT Google Calendar link so I can keep track of all of the Learning RT events, even though I may not attend them all.

I plan to bring more business cards and my own totebag: I want just enough room for the IPad I plan on winning from a still unnamed vendor.  OR a bobble head or three.  Or some cool swag.  But I plan on not acting like an IDIOT, grabbing everything from the vendors to hoard like a chipmunk.  I feel sorry for those people yet I feel ok making fun of them at will.

I plan to find a quiet space and do nothing for a few minutes each day: I pledge not to feel guilty about not going to EVERYTHING and seeing EVERY Vendor.

I plan to have a plan to visit the vendors: I will plan my time with the vendors, hitting my friends and favorites first, and I will be nice to all of the “Booth Bunnies” at ALA.  They pay for this thing so I can be nice and listen to their pitches and learn something either about their product or how to sell something.

I plan on having a good time with the informal learning and all: The unofficial networking with the likes of the Movers and Shakers, The LSW, T is for Training and Learning RT folks will provide me with valuable information and many sharable and un-sharable teachable moments.

I plan on not feeling guilty if I do not blog or post as much as I would like to do so while at ALA: It is a big exhausting conference and sometimes you do not have the time to properly write. So Follow my @confbaldgeek twitter feed and my regular @baldgekinmd twitterfeeds to see what I am doing at ALA before I write my blog posts.  Or just ask me what’s going on.

About (almost) Bald Trainer

A trainer in Maryland
This entry was posted in Chronicles of the (almost) Bald Technical Trainer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ALA 2010: My Simple Plan for Keeping Close to Sane

  1. Bobbi Newman says:

    I hope I find you so I can get a T is for Training Ribbon :-)

  2. Thanks for putting together the perfect ALA conference schedule for all of us interested in training-teaching-learning. Looking forward to seeing you and our other colleagues at the Trainers as Leaders presentation on Sunday, June 27, 2010 in the Washington (DC) conference center, Room 201, and hope your presentation Friday morning with Jay and Mary Beth from 8:30 am – noon in 8:30am-noon in the Renaissance Hotel’s Congressional Hall C is a knockout.

  3. Pingback: ALA Conference Survival Tips #ala10 | Librarian by Day

  4. stannate says:

    Michael, it was great talking with you at the National Press Club on the 25th. Laura and I spent a few days wandering throughout a lot of Maryland, from watching ponies on the shores of Assateague Park to witnessing cars overheat as they tried valiantly to drive westward on I-68 (an interstate that was more of a challenge than some of the roads in VA or WV). Now that we’re back in Saint Louis, and my Windows 7 rollout appears sadly to still be on target, it’s time for me to bone up on my “accidental trainer” skills.

    Don Kasak

  5. Pingback: Tips and Suggestions to Get the Most Out of Internet Librarian #il2010 | Librarian by Day

  6. Pingback: ALA Survival Tips, New & Improved for #ALA11 | Librarian by Day

Leave a Reply

