Learning 2.0 Project — Numbers 5, 6 and 7 of 23ish Things — My Friend Flickr

I have used Flickr for pictures I took at CIL (Computers In Libraries) this year and for our Technology Fair. In fact, I still have a bunch of pictures to upload for the technology fair and from ALA Annual (The American Library Association Annual Conference).

I do have one beef with Flickr. The tags should be, I don’t know, a little easier to attach. The tag cloud is ok but I don’t know. Maybe I am just spoiled by WordPress and their tagging system.

I do love that Flickr gives access to many different things and allows people to create things they want to either share with the world or just with their family or friends. Also, Flickr uses an API (Application Programming Interface), which allows people to create software applications that work with flickr images. So you could create a program that does “somethings” with the pictures found of Flickr. Very Open Sourcey. I do love that about Flickr.

Using one of these applications, I created a trading card that I posted to Flickr. Its here on my Flickr and it came out pretty well, if I do say so myself.

There is a Flickr mashup that has fascinated me since I first heard about it. It is called Retrivr and what it does is take a drawing that you create and retrives pictures based on that drawing from Flickr. Almost too cool for blogging.

About (almost) Bald Trainer

A trainer in Maryland
This entry was posted in 2.0, ALA Annual, API, flickr, Free Tools, Harford County Public Library, HCPL Technology Fair, Learning 2.0, Libraries 2.0, Library 2.0, Maryland Libraries Learning 2.0, mashups, Open Source, retrivr. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

