On Open Letter about election 2k8

An open letter to my friend Helen, It is presented in Twitterhaiku style since it started as a bunch of twitter replies:

Dear Helen,

You ask what I am thinking today..

I am still, Still Still in complete numbing shock. I cannot begin to believe this is happening. Speechless. Speechless;

I keep thinking that in 1985 casting my first vote the idea of electing one with my colorofskin president seemed impossible;

I am also thinking about Malcom X and the Ballot or the Bullet writings and that for once the Ballot won;

I think MLK, Mal X, Medgar Evars, T. Marshall, Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Langston Hughes their spirits a glow;

Of Betty Shabazz, Rosa Parks, Parents and decedents of everyone lynched, shot, burned, beaten or dragged behind cars through out the years;

I am thinking of Shirley Chisholm, David Dinkins, Kurt Schmoke, Douglas Wilder, Andrew Young, politicians who laid the groundwork.

I am thinking of my family, my grandmother, my aunts and uncles, all dead gone and never able to see this day after struggle…

Thinking of my friends who like me never even discussed this possibility as kids because it could never ever happen;

Thinking of how may times someone moved their purse or to the other side of the elevator because of my color. and he is chief;

I am thinking of MLK saying “Judging a man not by the color of his skin, but the content of his character;

I think of all who have fought for civil rights, human rights, the right to vote, the right to believe, the right to be, the right to dissent and how this changes it;

I am thinking about the pressure Obama’s administration will be under.  The world’s expectations focused on one address;

I am thinking of being quiet and meditating on this country and this world entering a new day.

That is where my head is today, crying, praying, thinking and trying to live.

M.

About (almost) Bald Trainer

A trainer in Maryland
This entry was posted in Harford County Public Library and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Open Letter about election 2k8

  1. It is an amazing time for our country. Thanks for sharing how it is affecting you personally – very moving!

  2. Lori Reed says:

    Beautifully put. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Pingback: Some Cool Stuff - en|Gender

Leave a Reply

