Impressions of CIL 2010 Day One

As an attendee of this year’s Computers In Libraries conference, I am duty bound to attend some sessions and report out to my library system on what I have learned. As seems to be the Computers In Libraries conference norm, I learned just as much between the sessions, as I have in the main session today.

It Is The Message, Stupid: I love hearing from other people it is about the message, not the medium. Transliteracy, or what you want to call it, is all about being where your users are, teaching them how to get there and showing them around. Yes, the same skills as before, adding “newer” media to the mix intelligently and effectively.

Yep, Social Networking Is Networking: Some of the CIL attending T is for Training Crew went to lunch. This is not a big thing. How we organized it is a social networked thing. We organized the lunch via Google Groups and confirmed live during the conference via Twitter. Did I mention we were 25 deep by the time we sat down to lunch? That is powerful networking.

People Know Stuff, and Interesting People Know More Stuff: At Computers In Libraries, you are in a temporary community of tech savvy or soon to be tech savvy library staff. And they all come with stuff to share. Want to see an IPad? See three or four. Want to see a storage device that doubles a projector, got to a vendor. Want to put your hands on thing X? Just tweet about it and someone will have it and let you see how it works. That is vital for those of us who are counted on to be on the leading edge of technology. Most of the time we need to play with it to know how it works and get an idea of how we can use that thing.

I Know You But I Haven’t Met You In Person: At this conference this conversation is happens: “ Hi, I Know You From Twitter/FriendFeed/Facebook/Blogging but we haven’t formally met.”  Many times a day.  Such as when I met @ellyssa

So, that is my impression of Day One of Computers In Libraries. I will be deeply involved in the Teaching Technologies and Approaches track.

So, follow my conference twitter personage at @confbaldgeek and my regular feed @baldgeekinmd for updates from Computers In Libraries.

About (almost) Bald Trainer

A trainer in Maryland
This entry was posted in Chronicles of the (almost) Bald Technical Trainer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Impressions of CIL 2010 Day One

  1. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  2. Anthony says:

    Hello to every single one, it’s in fact a nice for me to pay a visit this web site, it consists of important Information.

Leave a Reply

